About the UCI and Road World Championships

The first UCI Road World Championships took place in 1921, when only amateur men were allowed to race.  In 1927 the first Championships for professional men took place in Nürburgring, Germany and in 1958 the first women’s Championship event – the road race – was added to the program.

The original Championships competition schedule has expanded over time and now includes Time Trial and Road Race events for Elite men and women, Under 23 men, Junior men and women and mixed team (time trial).

The Championships have a different host city each year. The UCI Road World Championships, Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France form the Triple Crown of Cycling.

The 2022 UCI Road World Championships will be the 101st edition and only the second time the Championships have been held in the Southern Hemisphere.

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) is the worldwide governing body for cycling and was founded in 1900, in Paris (France). The UCI’s commitment is to lead the development of cycling as a competitive sport and activity in all its forms, across the world.

For more information about the UCI visit this page.


  • 2013 : Florence
  • 2014 : Ponferrada
  • 2015 : Richmond
  • 2016 : Doha
  • 2017 : Bergen
  • 2018 : Innsbruck
  • 2019 : Yorkshire
  • 2020: Imola
  • 2021: Flanders
  • 2022: Wollongong
  • 2023: Glasgow
  • 2024: Zurich
  • 2025: Kigali, Rwanda